“Data By Design” Datathon

Congratulations to our Data By Design Community!

Our Goals:

  • Build a diverse, collaborative and inclusive data community of all genders, skill levels and backgrounds
  • Co-create a datathon event with the community with a focus centered on collaboration and learning

How we did:


Unique attendees at the speaker series


Unique members in the Slack Community


of Datathon participants were first timers

What our participants had to say post datathon:

What our participants achieved through working alone or starting with a group of strangers:

  • Figured out each others work habits
  • Brainstormed ideas
  • Chose a topic, outlined a problem
  • Considered stakeholders
  • Looked for data
  • Refined a problem
  • Looked for data again
  • Cleaned and analysed
  • BONUS: Created a submission and presented to a broad audience

Check out our participants submissions at the links below:

Team Carpocalypse

Exploring a Calgary without cars

  • Adrian Leung
  • Beatriz Lombeida Velasquez
  • Kathleen Gould
  • Kristyll Avila
Team ChrisKross

Do we have enough lithium to fuel the electric car revolution

  • Chris Birchard
  • Kris Canivet
Team Tuition Investigators

Trends in Canadian University tuition and enrolment

  • Kyle Culliton
  • Honghu Li
  • Lincol Lin
  • Edward Yang
Team Botany Bay

Download Speeds – City of Calgary

  • Dena Townsend
  • Tonye Obomanu
  • Jennifer Emmerson
Team GHG Emissions

City of Calgary GHG Future Emissions Analysis

  • Ajibola Ojuawo
  • Georges Mendi
  • Pat Dudar
Team Vlasschaert

Mapping homelessness in Calgary

  • Joan Vlasschaert

Team The Food Rescuers

Reducing food waste and shrinking hunger in Calgary


  • Nabila Chaudhry
  • Reeta Suman
  • Liliana Zuleta
  • Victoria Person

Thank-you to our advisors, mentors and speaker series presenters:

Marc Boulet
Dave Buckley
David Chan
Tim Chan
Reuban Gazar
Danielle Gifford
Kris Hans
Alex Hope
Corine Jansonius
Paula Jennings

Ellie Jones
Gagan Kapoor
Jenny Lien
Jil Macdonald
Tim Mack
Evan Saltman
Theresa Smith
Sara Soltaninejad
Geoff Zakaib